The Gypsy Major Scale (Single String)

The Gypsy Major Scale (Single String)

This scale is also known as the Arabic Scale, Byzantine Scale, and Double Harmonic Scale

The interval sequence for this scale is:

half step – augmented second – half – whole – half – augmented second – half

In the key of C, the notes are:

C Db E F G Ab B C

In relation to the I, the intervals that make up the scale are

C – Db = minor 2nd
C – E = major 3rd
C – F = perfect 4th
C – G = perfect 5th
C – Ab = minor 6th
C – B = major 7th

Here’s the Gypsy Major Scale in the key of C mapped out on every string.


Seeing the scale on 1 string at a time is the fastest, easiest way to be able to solo right away with the scale.


C Db Em Fm G7b5 Abaug

Some other chords you can derive from this scale:

E, E6

Cool progressions to solo over

| C | Fm | Db7 | C ||

| Em | Fm | G7b5 | C |

Have fun soloing every day with that scale over any of the above chords or the above chord progressions.
Memorize the notes. Next week we’ll cover the in-position fingerings.


Hit me up anytime at if you have any questions, or if you would like to book a lesson.

These free lessons are cool, but you will never experience the progress, joy, and results that my students experience in lessons when you’re learning by yourself from blogs and videos.

That is why people take lessons: way better results and progress, much more complete information, exposed to way more creative ideas than you can get from a blog or YouTube video.
There is only so much that self-study can accomplish.

If you want to see amazing results and progress in your guitar playing, buy your first lesson here and get started ASAP.

  • 1 Lesson = 75

You’ll impress your friends and loved ones in no time with your guitar playing!

Consider donating any small amount to help me keep this blog going.
Thank you for your support!

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (5 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)


Leave a Comment