4-Note Quartal Harmony Chords.

4-Note Quartal Harmony Chords.

This is a continuation of last week’s blog Quartal Harmony.

Check that blog first if you haven’t yet. It will make the new material in this blog easier to understand.

Taking the information from last week’s blog a bit further, we’ll add a 4th note to last week’s 3-note quartal harmony chords.
Stacking another 4th interval, we get following note combinations:

  1. C F B E
  2. D G C F
  3. E A D G
  4. F B E A
  5. G C F B
  6. A D G C
  7. B E A D

Looking at the formulas for each of these chords, they all have a root, a 4th, and some type of 7th (major 7th or minor 7th)
That makes all these chords sus chords.

The names of these above chords are:

  1. C F B = Cmaj7(11)
  2. D G C = Dm11
  3. E A D = Em11
  4. F B E = Fmaj7#11 (no sus4 here because F to B is not a perfect 4th but a tritone)
  5. G C F = G7(11)
  6. A D G = Am11
  7. B E A = Bm11

You can learn all the voicings here:


Hit me up anytime at vreny@zotzinmusic.com if you have any questions, or if you would like to book a lesson.

These free lessons are cool, but you will never experience the progress, joy, and results that my students experience in lessons when you’re learning by yourself from blogs and videos.

That is why people take lessons: way better results and progress, much more complete information, exposed to way more creative ideas than you can get from a blog or YouTube video.
There is only so much that self-study can accomplish.

If you want to see amazing results and progress in your guitar playing, buy your first lesson here and get started ASAP.

  • 1 Lesson = 75

You’ll impress your friends and loved ones in no time with your guitar playing!

Consider donating any small amount to help me keep this blog going.
Thank you for your support!

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (5 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)


Leave a Comment