The Harmonic Minor Scale

The Harmonic Minor Scale

The harmonic minor scale is a really fun scale, used in classical music, jazz and neo-classical shred metal.
You get a harmonic minor scale when you raise the 7th in an Aeolian scale. As such, this scale has an augmented 2nd interval between the b6 abd 7th note.

The scale has three half steps

1) 2-b3
2) 5-b6
3) 7-8

The structure of the scale is

1 2 b3 4 5 b6 7

When you start that formula on the note A, you get the notes: A B C D E F G# A

Here’s all 7 fingerings of a C harmonic minor scale.

Next week we’ll discuss the triads in the harmonic minor scale.


Hit me up anytime at [email protected] if you have any questions, or if you would like to book a lesson.

Keep me informed on your progress. You can hit me up in the comments section below.
If you like this blog: give it a rating and feel free to also give me any feedback.
I believe everything can always be improved. I’d gladly implement your suggestions and ideas in this blog or the next.

Be on the look out for more blogs about everything guitar, music, songwriting and music education.
You’re on your way to becoming a great guitar player.
Have fun! 🙂

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (10 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)


Leave a Comment